Page 2 of 2

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:00 pm
by ChrisCharlton
You can't add a check directly because, as far as I can remember, -runmlwin- doesn't have a way to determine that it is being run in the context of an -mi- command. It would however be possible to add an option to turn the behaviour on or off manually. Probably the simplest way for you do to this would be to define a global that you then check as part of the condition used to determine whether to modify the results.

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:12 pm
by likestatistic
Great thanks you for your suggestion.
I would like to display c1099 (covariance matrix of fixed parameter estimates) back in stata (for future use if needed) .
It is possible?
If yes, can you please help me?

Many thanks

L

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 1:21 pm
by ChrisCharlton
The values in this column should end up as the first part of the matrix e(V) returned from -runmlwin-. Is this sufficient for what you need, or does it need to still be in the column form?

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:03 pm
by likestatistic
The format of the matrix displayed in stata (matrix list e(V)) is massive when running the model with a lot of covariables.
Is it possible to collect them in a different ways (like the column way you are suggesting)?

Thanks

L

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 3:44 pm
by ChrisCharlton
Without modifying runmlwin.ado you could extract just the fixed part of the matrix as follows:

Code: Select all

matrix V = e(V)
matrix FP_V = V["FP1:", "FP1:"]
matrix list FP_V
You could convert this to a single column as follows (although this will be the full matrix, rather than the half you get in MLwiN):

Code: Select all

matrix Vcol = vec(FP_V)
matrix list Vcol
If you wanted the values in exactly the same format as in MLwiN, and didn't mind editing the .ado file then you could save the FP_V variable that is brought back with the other model results from MLwiN.

Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 4:34 pm
by likestatistic
Thank you very much for your help, I Really appreciate it.
All the best

L