Error "Unable to invert va" while running MCMC model

Welcome to the forum for runmlwin users. Feel free to post your question about runmlwin here. The Centre for Multilevel Modelling take no responsibility for the accuracy of these posts, we are unable to monitor them closely. Do go ahead and post your question and thank you in advance if you find the time to post any answers!

Go to runmlwin: Running MLwiN from within Stata >> http://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/software/runmlwin/
awenterem

Error "Unable to invert va" while running MCMC model

Post by awenterem »

Hi all,

I am quite new to multilevel regression modelling. I am trying to run a random coefficient using the MCMC method with the code below.
I keep getting an error that says "Unable to invert va". I have tried all the other solutions suggested on this forum with no success.
Any help to fix this problem will immensely be appreciated, thanks in advance.

Code: Select all

runmlwin CookingBin HouseSize FHeadSex UUrban HeadAge R_Under15 R_Female BIncome2 BIncome5 BIncome3 BIncome4 c_polity cons , level2(groups:cons c_polity) level1(hid:) discrete(d(binomial) l(logit) denom(cons) pql2) nopause maxiterations(100)
runmlwin CookingBin HouseSize FHeadSex UUrban HeadAge R_Under15 R_Female BIncome2 BIncome5 BIncome3 BIncome4 c_polity cons , level2(groups:cons c_polity ) level1(hid:) discrete(d(binomial) l(logit) denom(cons)) mcmc(burnin(100) chain(1000)
ChrisCharlton

Re: Error "Unable to invert va" while running MCMC model

Post by ChrisCharlton »

What do the results of the IGLS model that you are using as starting value look like? Are any of the parameter estimates zero? Have you tried fitting simpler versions of the model, and if so do these work?
awenterem

Post by awenterem »

Hi Chris,

Thank you for responding to my question.