How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:34 am
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
You can't add a check directly because, as far as I can remember, -runmlwin- doesn't have a way to determine that it is being run in the context of an -mi- command. It would however be possible to add an option to turn the behaviour on or off manually. Probably the simplest way for you do to this would be to define a global that you then check as part of the condition used to determine whether to modify the results.
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:11 pm
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
Great thanks you for your suggestion.
I would like to display c1099 (covariance matrix of fixed parameter estimates) back in stata (for future use if needed) .
It is possible?
If yes, can you please help me?
Many thanks
L
I would like to display c1099 (covariance matrix of fixed parameter estimates) back in stata (for future use if needed) .
It is possible?
If yes, can you please help me?
Many thanks
L
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:34 am
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
The values in this column should end up as the first part of the matrix e(V) returned from -runmlwin-. Is this sufficient for what you need, or does it need to still be in the column form?
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:11 pm
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
The format of the matrix displayed in stata (matrix list e(V)) is massive when running the model with a lot of covariables.
Is it possible to collect them in a different ways (like the column way you are suggesting)?
Thanks
L
Is it possible to collect them in a different ways (like the column way you are suggesting)?
Thanks
L
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:34 am
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
Without modifying runmlwin.ado you could extract just the fixed part of the matrix as follows:
You could convert this to a single column as follows (although this will be the full matrix, rather than the half you get in MLwiN):
If you wanted the values in exactly the same format as in MLwiN, and didn't mind editing the .ado file then you could save the FP_V variable that is brought back with the other model results from MLwiN.
Code: Select all
matrix V = e(V)
matrix FP_V = V["FP1:", "FP1:"]
matrix list FP_V
Code: Select all
matrix Vcol = vec(FP_V)
matrix list Vcol
-
- Posts: 39
- Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2014 4:11 pm
Re: How can I change the variance in the Runmlwin Command?
Thank you very much for your help, I Really appreciate it.
All the best
L
All the best
L