Hello,
My analyses worked fine yesterday, but now I am getting the error message ":operator invalid" every time I try to run one of my models.
Here's my output:
. quietly runmlwin FAMILIED cons, ///
> level2(_w1: cons) ///
> level1(CYCIS_ID: cons) ///
> nopause
.: operator invalid
r(198);
Thanks,
Kanisha
Error---.: operator invalid
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:34 am
Re: Error---.: operator invalid
Could you please run:
prior to running the command and then provide the logged output?
Could you also let us know the version of Stata you are using and whether anything has changed since you were last successfully able to use the command?
Code: Select all
set trace on
Could you also let us know the version of Stata you are using and whether anything has changed since you were last successfully able to use the command?
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:14 pm
Re: Error---.: operator invalid
I've attached the output suing "set trace on". I'm using Stata 12. I don't know what has changed since I last was able to use it.
I've also tried using my university's virtual lab website that has STATA 15 and I'm also getting an "...invalid name" error message. Here's my code:
* (1) Store the original PLUS directory path in the global macro sysdir_plus
global sysdir_plus = c(sysdir_plus)
* (2) Change the PLUS directory path to a directory where you can save files
sysdir set PLUS "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3"
* (3) Install runmlwin to this new directory
ssc install runmlwin, replace
* (4) Revert back to the original PLUS directory path
sysdir set PLUS "$sysdir_plus"
* (5) Add the runmlwin directory to the ado-file directory path
adopath + "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3"
global MLwiN_path "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3\MLwiN v3.02\mlwin.exe"
And i got the following output:
. do "C:\Users\klc90\AppData\Local\Temp\4\STD16b4_000000.tmp"
. quietly runmlwin FAMILIED cons, ///
> level2(w1: cons) ///
> level1(CYCIS_ID: cons) ///
> nopause
... invalid name
Thank you.
I've also tried using my university's virtual lab website that has STATA 15 and I'm also getting an "...invalid name" error message. Here's my code:
* (1) Store the original PLUS directory path in the global macro sysdir_plus
global sysdir_plus = c(sysdir_plus)
* (2) Change the PLUS directory path to a directory where you can save files
sysdir set PLUS "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3"
* (3) Install runmlwin to this new directory
ssc install runmlwin, replace
* (4) Revert back to the original PLUS directory path
sysdir set PLUS "$sysdir_plus"
* (5) Add the runmlwin directory to the ado-file directory path
adopath + "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3"
global MLwiN_path "C:\Users\klc90\Documents\IB3\MLwiN v3.02\mlwin.exe"
And i got the following output:
. do "C:\Users\klc90\AppData\Local\Temp\4\STD16b4_000000.tmp"
. quietly runmlwin FAMILIED cons, ///
> level2(w1: cons) ///
> level1(CYCIS_ID: cons) ///
> nopause
... invalid name
Thank you.
- Attachments
-
- invalidname.docx
- (28.33 KiB) Downloaded 702 times
-
- Posts: 1384
- Joined: Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:34 am
Re: Error---.: operator invalid
For some reason on your machine the command isn't able to extract the version information from the MLwiN executable, which is causing a check that uses this to fail later. If you run the check manually you should get the following:
The attached version of -runmlwin- is able to continue without knowing the version of MLwiN being used (it assumes that it is greater than three in that case), so this should work for you.
Code: Select all
. runmlwin_verinfo $MLwiN_path
Version: 3.2.0.0
. return list
scalars:
r(ver4) = 0
r(ver3) = 0
r(ver2) = 2
r(ver1) = 3
- Attachments
-
- runmlwin.ado
- (264.76 KiB) Downloaded 831 times
-
- Posts: 3
- Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2018 7:14 pm
Re: Error---.: operator invalid
Thank you! That worked!