IGLS/RIGLS numeric warning

Welcome to the forum for MLwiN users. Feel free to post your question about MLwiN software here. The Centre for Multilevel Modelling take no responsibility for the accuracy of these posts, we are unable to monitor them closely. Do go ahead and post your question and thank you in advance if you find the time to post any answers!

Remember to check out our extensive software FAQs which may answer your question: http://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/software/s ... port-faqs/
Aligazan

IGLS/RIGLS numeric warning

Post by Aligazan »

Hello

I am new to MLwiN and have encountered this IGLS/RIGLS numeric warning. I see there have been posts on this before, and have tried the suggested solutions but am still having problems.
Attached is a screenshot

I did find that it worked if I selected RIGLS rather than IGLS and allowed negative variances at level 2 and level 1 - however I don't know if this is a valid thing to do. I also then found that when I ran it again, MLwin didn't like it and produced inconsistent results.

Please could you tell me when it is appropriate to use RIGLS or IGLS estimation, and under what circumstances it is appropriate to allow negative variances? And any suggestions about how best to solve my issue would be very much appreciated.

Thank you!
Attachments
screenshot.docx
(210.92 KiB) Downloaded 449 times
joneskel

Re: IGLS/RIGLS numeric warning

Post by joneskel »