Page 1 of 1

Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Fri May 20, 2016 4:20 pm
by mpap21st
Dear users forum

I have tried to pick up the usual advice in the forum on how to set the path from within stata to use runmlwin without success. Trying to follow the example stata gives on Multivariate response models:

Setup
. use http://www.bristol.ac.uk/cmm/media/runmlwin/tutorial, clear
. generate binexam = (normexam>0)
. generate binlrt = (standlrt>0)

I have changed to the location in my laptop as follows:

global MLwiN_path "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Centre for MultiLevel Modelling\MLwiN v2.35\i386\mlwin.exe"

But the error message is the same as previous users have found when running:

. runmlwin (binexam cons, equation(1)) (binlrt cons, equation(2)), level1(student:) discrete(distribution(binomial binomial) link(probit) denominator(cons cons)) nosort nopause

"C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs\Centre for MultiLevel Modelling\MLwiN v2.35\i386\mlwin.exe does not exist."

Would you please let me know how to sort this, as this is a University laptop and I don't have administrator rights to re-install the programme (I am away from the University where I work at the moment).

Many thanks in advance,


Mary.

Re: Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Fri May 20, 2016 4:35 pm
by ChrisCharlton
Have you checked (perhaps via Windows explorer) that the location you referenced actually exists? To me it looks like you are pointing to the start menu item rather than the application itself. I would expect the required global to be closer to:

Code: Select all

global MLwiN_path "C:\Program Files (x86)\MLwiN v2.36\i386\mlwin.exe"
(you will need to adjust the version number for your copy of MLwiN)

Re: Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Fri May 20, 2016 6:31 pm
by mpap21st
Made a copy to location I have access to on the ("C:\MLwiN (x86)\MLwiN v2.35\i386\mlwin.exe"), but did not work either. I don't have administrator rights to do C:\Programme Files...

Is re-installing it with advance options (so to a different location) the only alternative to make it work? Still administrator rights is an issue at the moment...

Thanks agaon, Mary

Re: Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Mon May 23, 2016 9:31 am
by ChrisCharlton
Could you clarify whether the problem is with installing MLwiN or getting -runmlwin- to see it? If you have a working copy of MLwiN you should just be able to point to it in the normal location as you do not need write permissions for -runmlwin- to be able to use it.

Re: Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 12:19 pm
by mpap21st
Hello again. The problem I think it is getting -runmlwin- to see it, as I can open MLwiN separately from stata (or at least I can see the screen with the logo and the commands bar). The location I point at is the same from where the standalone MLwiN runs...I definitely followed the steps stata shows in help runmlwin, but still the same message appears...Is this a stata problem? Thanks again for your patience.

Re: Problem using runmlwin in Stata 14.0

Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 12:26 pm
by ChrisCharlton
In that case could you try running the following from within Stata (adjusting for where MLwiN is installed on your machine):

Code: Select all

shell "C:\Program Files (x86)\MLwiN v2.36\i386\mlwin.exe"
Running this should cause MLwiN to open. If that works then also try the following:

Code: Select all

shell $MLwiN_path
If MLwiN fails to open after the first command then it means that you have specified the wrong location. If it fails on the second then it suggests that you have not defined the MLwiN_path global correctly.